A train carrot cake.

I have to find the photos of Aiden’s Actual birthday party. But I figured since these were all uploaded I would get this blog out of the way-since I’ve committed to catching up on blogs I might as well get as many done today as I can 🙂

I first decided I needed to use the best Carrot Cake recipe I know-enter Elise’s amazing Carrot Cake recipe.

For the Cake:

  • 1 1/4 pounds of shredded Carrots
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1 1/2 C Vegetable Oil
  • 2 C All Purpose Flour
  • 2 C Sugar ( I used Bakers sugar)
  • 2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 2 tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 1/2 C Chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)

Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 4 C Powered Sugar
  • 1 8oz. package of Cream Cheese (softened)
  • 1/2 C Margarine ( I used butter)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla

Directions:

  1. Shred Carrots ( I use a food processor)
  2. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  3. Grease a 9 x 13 pan (I used round cake pans for this particular cake) then lightly coat with Flour
  4. Beat Eggs and Oil in a small bowl
  5. Combine dry ingredients in another bowl- slowly add egg mixture to dry ingredients
  6. Stir in the Carrots and then add to prepared pan.
  7. Bake 30-35 minutes or until toothpick comes clean.
  8. Make icing (beat wet ingredients, then slowly add sugar until smooth)
  9. Ice Cake once cooled.
  10. ENJOY!

Image

I didn’t grate my carrots small enough so they sunk to the bottom. Still yummy though!

Image

Then I cut them all into individual cakes so I could spread the frosting in-between and on the outside of the cake.

Image

Image

Now it was time to put the white fondant on it. Oh man, was this the hard part.

Image

Then I added sticks to hold the second layer.

Image

Then I put a piece of cardboard under the smaller topper and voila…

Image

Next I added grass all around both cakes.

Image

Then I started on the train.

Image

And here is the final product. A labor of love from 9 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Nov 15th, 2013.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Here’s a cake for the grown-ups.

Image

And this was my inspiration. Not too bad for my first Fondant adventure!

One thought on “A train carrot cake.

Leave a Reply

